From WKRN-TV in Nashville:

According to a police affidavit, a witness grabbed Adam Bartsch’s cell phone and notified a flight attendant.  Rey Collazo told News 2 exclusively he first saw Bartsch taking photographs while boarding the plane. He did not know he was an on-duty air marshal at the time.

“I just reached over with my left hand and grabbed it, struggled with him a little bit and I got the better part of the phone and twisted and hit him with my right hand between the neck and the shoulder. Shoved him back and I took the phone,” Collazo said.  He added, “I looked at the guy and said, ‘Excuse me, you ought to be ashamed of yourself. A disgrace to a human being, to a man, that’s wrong.'”

Bartsch, 28, was removed from Southwest flight No. 3132 and taken into police custody.  He admitted to taking 10 to 12 pictures up women’s skirts.  Bartsch told police he had taken similar photos more than a dozen times in the past.

A passenger who could take his cell phone in this manner could just as easily have taken his weapon.  And where was his partner?  Air marshals usually travel in pairs.  So much for his backup!

Air marshals should be stood down until their character and qualifications are individually reviewed,  hopefully by someone much more honorable & capable than Adam Joseph Bartsch.

Previously blogged here:

